Fish vs Chicken: Which Is Healthier?
Gram for gram, fish and chicken give you about the same protein, but fish gives you omega-3 fats that chicken barely has. In India’s own food tables (IFCT 2017, ICMR-NIN), skinless chicken breast has 21.81 g protein per 100 g; surmai has 22.28 g and bangda 21.51 g. Surmai has 1.05 g of the omega-3 fats EPA + DHA per 100 g and bangda 0.33 g, while US data puts raw chicken breast at 0.007 g. Both can be part of a healthy diet; the bigger difference is usually how you cook them.
Every number below comes from a source listed under Sources. Values are per 100 g raw edible portion (the flesh you eat, no bones, skin or shell) unless stated.
This is general food information, not medical advice. If you have a heart, kidney or other health condition, check with your doctor before changing your diet.
How do fish and chicken compare per 100 g?
| Food (raw) | Energy (kcal) | Protein (g) | Fat (g) | Omega-3 EPA + DHA (g) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Surmai (kingfish) | 136 | 22.28 | 5.18 | 1.05 | IFCT 2017 |
| Bangda (Indian mackerel) | 101 | 21.51 | 1.53 | 0.33 | IFCT 2017 |
| Pomfret (white, paplet) | 123 | 19.02 | 5.12 | 0.59 | IFCT 2017 |
| Rohu | 102 | 19.71 | 2.39 | 0.07 | IFCT 2017 |
| Prawns (tiger prawns) | 65 | 14.25 | 0.74 | 0.12 | IFCT 2017 |
| Chicken breast, skinless (Indian samples) | 168 | 21.81 | 9.00 | not reported | IFCT 2017 |
| Chicken thigh, skinless (Indian samples) | 200 | 18.18 | 14.23 | not reported | IFCT 2017 |
| Chicken breast, skinless (US samples) | 120 | 22.5 | 2.62 | 0.007 | USDA FoodData Central |
How to read this table
- IFCT gives energy in kilojoules. We converted to kcal with IFCT’s own factor (1 kcal = 4.18 kJ) and rounded. EPA + DHA is IFCT’s EPA and DHA (reported in mg) added together and shown in grams.
- IFCT does not report EPA or DHA for chicken, so those cells say “not reported”. The US figure is from USDA.
- The two chicken breast rows differ a lot in fat (9.00 g in Indian samples, 2.62 g in the US sample). Fat depends on the bird and how it is trimmed.
- Any one fish can differ from these averages with size, season and where it was caught.
Which has more protein, fish or chicken?
They are close. Skinless chicken breast is 21.81 g (IFCT) or 22.5 g (USDA) per 100 g. Surmai (22.28 g) and bangda (21.51 g) are in the same range, with pomfret (19.02 g) and rohu (19.71 g) a little lower. Prawns are lower at 14.25 g, with very little fat.
ICMR-NIN’s Dietary Guidelines for Indians (2024) says flesh foods and eggs contain all the essential amino acids, so fish and chicken are both “complete” protein.
Which is better for omega-3?
Fish, clearly. ICMR-NIN names marine fish, other seafood and eggs as good natural sources of the long-chain omega-3 fats EPA and DHA. Per 100 g:
- Surmai 1.05 g, pomfret 0.59 g, bangda 0.33 g (IFCT 2017)
- Chicken breast 0.007 g (USDA)
Freshwater rohu is lower (0.07 g), so if omega-3 is your reason for eating fish, sea fish like surmai, pomfret, bangda and tarli do more. For more on this, see omega-3 fish for heart health.
Fish or chicken for weight loss?
Per 100 g raw, bangda (101 kcal), rohu (102 kcal) and prawns (65 kcal) have fewer calories than the Indian chicken breast samples (168 kcal), though USDA’s leaner chicken breast is 120 kcal. ICMR-NIN’s guideline on obesity suggests lean meats such as skinless poultry and fish, cooked by grilling, baking, steaming or sautéing with minimal oil instead of frying.
In practice the cooking matters more than the choice: a deep-fried fish adds oil that a chicken curry made with little oil does not, and the other way round. See best fish for weight loss.
Can you eat fish and chicken every day?
ICMR-NIN’s guidelines say non-vegetarians can get high-quality protein from 700 g to 900 g a week of fish, poultry or lean meat, or from eggs. That total can be split between fish and chicken however you like. The same guidelines put the protein requirement (RDA) at 0.83 g per kg of body weight a day, which works out to 54 g a day for a 65 kg adult.
The American Heart Association recommends 2 servings of fish a week, particularly fatty fish.
FAQ
Is fish healthier than chicken? On protein they are about equal. Fish has far more omega-3 (EPA + DHA): surmai 1.05 g per 100 g against 0.007 g for chicken breast. How you cook either one matters as much as which you pick.
What is the protein in fish vs chicken per 100 g? Skinless chicken breast: 21.81 g (IFCT) or 22.5 g (USDA). Surmai 22.28 g, bangda 21.51 g, rohu 19.71 g, pomfret 19.02 g, prawns 14.25 g (IFCT 2017, raw).
Which is better for weight loss, fish or chicken? Both are lean protein. Bangda, rohu and prawns are lower in calories per 100 g than the Indian chicken breast samples. Grilling, steaming or a light curry keeps either one lighter than deep frying.
Which is easier to digest, chicken or fish? We did not find a reliable source that compares the two directly, so we won’t guess. If you have a digestive condition, ask your doctor.
Can I eat chicken and fish every day? ICMR-NIN suggests 700 g to 900 g a week of fish, poultry or lean meat in total for non-vegetarians, and the AHA suggests fish twice a week.
Getting fresh fish
Verified sellers on Relifish list surmai, bangda, pomfret, rohu and prawns when they have them, cleaned and cut to order. See today’s fish.
You might also like: protein and omega-3 for athletes, fish by fish.
Sources
- Longvah T, Ananthan R, Bhaskarachary K, Venkaiah K. Indian Food Composition Tables 2017 (IFCT 2017). ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad. PDF at nin.res.in. Table 1 (energy, protein, fat) and Table 7 (EPA C20:5n3, DHA C22:6n3). Entries: Vanjaram P087, Mackerel P034, Pomfret white P057, Rohu S006, Tiger prawns orange Q008, Chicken breast skinless N003, Chicken thigh skinless N002.
- USDA FoodData Central (SR Legacy): Chicken, broiler or fryers, breast, skinless, boneless, meat only, raw (FDC 171077). Energy, protein, fat, EPA (0.003 g) and DHA (0.004 g).
- ICMR-National Institute of Nutrition. Dietary Guidelines for Indians 2024. PDF at nin.res.in. Guideline 7 (marine fish and long-chain omega-3, page 53), Guideline 8 (protein RDA, essential amino acids, 700 to 900 g a week of flesh foods, pages 57 to 58), Guideline 9 (lean meats and cooking methods, page 66).
- American Heart Association. Fish and Omega-3 Fatty Acids (last reviewed 23 Aug 2024).
Share this article: